check your dome

April 13, 2010

I’m not going to lie, I’ve got a thing for big industrial spaces and raw materials.  When I was a girl I used to dream of driving bulldozers and diggers around on construction sites, I still quietly harbor such desires.  Luckily, my son is far too willing to indulge me and allows me the great pleasure of driving his toy front loader in the sand whenever we go to the beach.  I sit there happily digging holes in the sand for what seems like forever as he slowly fills the holes back in with his cement truck, it doesn’t get much better.

When I walk into a Home Depot and look up at the rows and rows of industrial pendants they have glaring overhead my heart goes pitter pat a little faster.  There’s something about a simple dome pendant that screams industrial chic to me.  Here are a few lighting options in the industrial spirit that won’t make your home feel like an abandoned warehouse.

SHAW Pendant by Daryl Carter for Urban Electric Company

XXL Dome by Ingo Maurer

NUR Gloss Suspension Lamp by Artemide

Skygarden Suspension Lamp by Marcel Wanders for FLOS

Crystal Waters Pendant by Brand van Egmond

One Response to “check your dome”

  1. Julie Says:

    Great write-up…like your witty style.


Please Say Something About this Post!

