valley girl, Kappe style

July 23, 2010

I started working on a house in the valley just about a year ago.  It’s a treehouse, built in 1964 by Los Angeles architect Ray Kappe.  Originally named the Strimmling House for the family who commissioned the project, it boasts many of the qualities that Kappe is known for.  A beautiful flow between indoors and out, the use of redwood galore, walls of windows from floor to ceiling…and it had not been properly cared for over the past 15 years.

Over the past year I have spoken to Mr. Kappe himself, worked with his lovely and sweet structural engineer who was the original engineer for the house back in the early 60’s (and yes, at over 80 years old, he got down on his hands and knees and was crawling around under the house with me checking out the foundations), dealt with the Getty  museum attempting to get a copy of Mr. Kappe’s final plans for the house which now reside there, jacked up decks, had a baby, landscaped, put in footings and new posts and beams and have basically done everything that was needed to restore the house to some resemblance of what Mr. Kappe had intended it to be.

Honestly, when I began working on the project the owner told me he believed someone would most likely want to bulldoze the house.  I could see that all the house needed was a little love and someone who believed it was worth saving and that’s exactly what I set out to do.

Sometimes a house or a project can look a lot scarier than it really is and this was definitely that house.  It still has a long way to go, I didn’t do a full restoration, my job was to get it presentable for sale, basically my job was to get the house into a state that didn’t scare people away and then stage it.

I’ll let you judge for yourself, but I think I accomplished my mission…

2 Responses to “valley girl, Kappe style”


  1. […] this gem by architect Ray Kappe was neglected for 15 years.  A year ago, interior designer Sarah Rosenhaus stepped in to revamp this valley home exposing a diamond in the rough.  The impressive redwood […]

  2. Barry Schoenfeld Says:

    Sarah —
    Is there any way to arrange a small private tour of your home for our group, the California Men’s Gathering?
    Thanks.
    Barry
    B123S@aol.com


Please Say Something About this Post!

