G R A Y E

October 18, 2010

I love modern design.  There’s nothing like a slick, streamlined, top-stitched sofa floating on chrome or a super low coffee table to get me excited.  Strangely, when I think about my ideal house, it isn’t one of those ultra modern, cantilevered, all steel and glass boxes that you associate with great modern furniture.

I love a little texture and history just as much as I love simplicity.

A home needs to be warm, inviting, comfortable.  A place to entertain and raise a family yet showcase it’s owners personal taste and style.  You get my point…

So I’m out and about in LA and I keep passing this new showroom G R A Y E on Robertson (316 S. Robertson to be exact), but I’m running around and don’t have time to pull over and run in (what originally catches my eye is this fantastic exterior brick wall that has been left exposed inside the showroom as well and the front window just sits right up next to it, love).

I end up stopping in the one day that I have both my 3 1/2 year old and my 4 month old in tow.

I am immediately greeted by the owner Maria, who is as warm and charming as she is chic.

This showroom is a modernists heaven.  Carrying lines such as Living Divani, Porro and Gervasoni, to name a few – Maria tells me that she too is a mother and we agree that while style is of utmost importance, so is comfort, cleanability and dependability.  Something she is quick to explain is what is so great about the pieces that she has on her floor and the overall approach of her showroom.  Everything she has is carefully selected and beautiful, but there is nothing ‘precious’ about this showroom.

She doesn’t even blink an eye when my son starts using the furniture as a trampoline…

To check out G R A Y E for yourself go to www.graye-la.com

Please Say Something About this Post!

