happiness is a new sofa…or is it?

November 15, 2010

We just did a bunch of work at our place including fixing up our sofa.  We’d been living on a threadbare, flattened, little person- handprinted, lopsided excuse for a sofa for a while.  I was pretty down about it, I mean, I’m a designer, my sofa should not look like we just hauled it in from someone’s alley.

I love the sofa itself, but the old tattered linen that was barely holding on had to go.  It’s a simple classic low modern sectional with no arms, a tightly upholstered deck and low back. It’s super comfy and would look great in a number of different spaces.  Definitely a keeper.

Then there was the question of whether to upholster or slipcover and what fabric to use. Michael wanted to upholster with another heavy neutral linen.  I wanted to upholster with something outrageously expensive from one of the showrooms in the PDC.

We ended up having slipcovers made in a very washable white denim.

Not what Michael wanted, and not necessarily my first choice, but here’s why I did this…

1. My boys are a mess and while white does get dirty, the heavy white denim can be washed and bleached and washed and bleached and washed and bleached…

2. While my boys are young I don’t want to worry about upholstering in a $100 per yard fabric that I am going to be freaking out about every time someone glances in the direction of my sofa.

3. Slipcovers are cheap and can be removed and changed easily, did I mention that they are washable and bleachable?

4. I can always have the sofa and cushions upholstered in a nicer fabric and then still use the slipcovers while the boys are messy little monsters.

So we do all this work and it’s like a brand new house and Michael and I are sitting in the living room and I look around and I think to myself ‘whatever’.

Don’t get me wrong, all the work we did made a huge difference and I love it…but I really thought the key to my happiness was surely a new sofa…

 

 

Shanghai sofa Poliform

Crono Simplice Sofa from B&B Italia

Chemise Sofa by Piero Lissoni for Living Divani

Polder Sofa by Hella Jongerius for vitra.

Vladimir Kagan sofa for Ralph Pucci

Lampert Sofa by Jonathan Adler

 

Please Say Something About this Post!

