santa monica

April 1, 2011

I’ve been working in Interior Design for nearly 10 years.  In those 10 years I’ve worked on a number of different projects, small and large ranging in style from modern to traditional. I can honestly tell you that there have been jobs that I took just for the money and the work that was produced was not necessarily my style or work that I would want associated with my name.

I’m not saying the work was bad, it wasn’t, my clients have always been happy with my work.  It’s just that sometimes the work that I have done hasn’t reflected my personal style and the ‘look’ that I want associated with my name.

Over the past few years I have been lucky enough to mostly work with clients who share the same if not a similar aesthetic to mine.

A couple of years ago a client came to me wanting to remodel his small but amazingly located condo in Santa Monica.  The unit is in a high-rise building overlooking the beach to the west and all of Los Angeles to the east.

We approached the space as though it was a loft and worked to create an open mid-century/modern floor plan.

We proceeded with a full-gut remodel taking the unit down the the studs and concrete floors, removing walls and extending out the living room exterior wall to add square footage.

We finally got it together recently to have the place photographed, and it is one that I am proud to share with you.

Custom SRID night table and bed with vintage lamp and art in the bedroom

The kitty hopped up on the bed and it couldn’t have been more perfect for the shot!

Custom SRID shelving and a vintage Eames chair that belonged to the client’s parents.

One of my favorite shots, this space used to be part of the outdoor patio, I love the movement and light as it hits the sheers and the long vista into the bedroom…

Custom SRID designed bench, another of my favorite shots!

Custom SRID designed kitchen and exposed structural concrete wall in the kitchen.

The kitchen during construction.

I love this hallway!  We floated all of the walls in the unite on 1 inch reveals, inspired by the work of Ray Kappe.  Love the detail in the floor as it changes direction in the corner.

Hallway under construction…a door and framing was removed to open and expand the space.

Bathroom with custom SRID designed walnut bath cabinet

photos by Tom Fowlks

Please Say Something About this Post!

