recycled centuries

April 22, 2011

Last year for Earth Day I posted about eco-friendly options for the home.  This year I wanted to take a look at vintage pieces that help you to stay friendly to mama earth by recycling treasures of years past.

I have this dream room in my mind with no client to go with it, so I thought it would be the perfect material for a post.  There are some things that I love, that don’t necessarily go together, that I would like to put together in a room.

1. I have a thing for vintage floral wallpapers from the 1930’s and 1940’s.  They feel so homey and pretty to me, but I don’t necessarily want to go all period with it.

2. I love antique persian rugs.  Really old stuff has character and I like character.  Rugs tell a story in a room and the mix of the vintage wallpaper with the antique rug feels so right to me.

3. I have an almost unhealthy obsession with mid-century, danish, ceramic lighting.  I get into these frenzies on ebay and now have a storage unit full of lamps that I don’t know what to do with…

So, are you with me so far?  This room would have the following elements…1930’s/1940’s vintage floral wallpaper, with an antique persian rug and at least one, if not a pair of mid-century danish modern lamps.

Please Say Something About this Post!

