layers

April 28, 2011

I am a minimalist.  At least I think I am.  I know that I can’t stand clutter, I need everything in its place and overly decorated spaces give me anxiety.

The thing is, I also don’t like really stark modern spaces that feel cold and unlivable.  But isn’t that what we consider minimalism?

I think there is a place in between.  Where a space feels like home, feels lived in, has character and isn’t cluttered from floor to ceiling with no room to breathe.

I had the privilege of being invited inside the home of Ray and Charles Eames a few years back.  Design icons whom I respect and admire greatly whose home I would hardly call minimalist.  There were pieces and trinkets all over the house from years of them traveling the world and collecting different odds and ends.  I think what made their home bearable was that although there was stuff everywhere it all meant something, was artfully arranged in groupings and there were places for the eye to land.

So I guess I’d have to say I love a space with layers.  A space that feels crisp and dynamic, that doesn’t overwhelm, but at the same time draws you in and unfolds as you spend time there.

Maybe I’m not a minimalist, as much as I’d like to think I am…

Please Say Something About this Post!

