eat in library

December 27, 2011

This time of year is supposed to be cozy.  A time for reflection and rest and eating lots of yummy treats and gathering with family and staying inside to avoid the cold.

To me, nothing speaks more of this time than food and books.  Two things which can be done in excess to pass the time on a cold wintry day whilst snow falls outside.

I live in Los Angeles.

I look out my window at the sparkling ocean, with the sun shining and the 70 degree weather and feel that I have in some way been robbed.  I think at this time of year we actually need to slow down and rest our bodies and the weather is supposed to assist in making this easy for us.

That doesn’t happen here in sunny Santa Monica.

The weather here calls to you, it beckons you to come out and play and enjoy the crystal blue skies.

This does not make for a quiet, contemplative cozy winter indoors.  Recharging with a bowl of soup, some hot cocoa and a good book.

That’s all I really want.  To sit in my eat in library, surrounded by books, and eat my way through winter.

Please Say Something About this Post!

