wallpaper cabinet – part 3

June 21, 2012

Due to the fact that this cabinet I am having built is nearly 8 feet long, we determined that it will need a center support.

Not thrilled, but necessary.  While discussing the best way to support the center something got lost in translation and my builder did the exact opposite of what I asked him to do.

I found this out in a picture text message late Friday afternoon, a fabulous way to start my weekend.  My simple cabinet all of a sudden looked like 2 little cabinets fused together.

I ran downtown early Tuesday to have a look and figure out the best solution.  Luckily the problem is easily solved by cutting back the center support by 3 inches and then enlarging the 2 center drawer fronts by 1/2 and inch.

Otherwise, I am happy with how the piece is coming along.  I dropped off the hardware when I went to visit as well and am very excited to see the finished product!

Here it is with the center support, not what I envisioned.  Next post it will be fixed and ready for the wallpaper!

The center support and leg are being cut back 3 inches (the thickness of the top) so that they are recessed and less prominent.  The drawer faces are being re-made 1/2 inch longer.

 Here is the pull, 10 inch polished nickel.  Sleek and shiny!

So pretty!

Please Say Something About this Post!

