roy mcmakin

August 30, 2010

I used to work for vitra.

While at vitra I had a co-worker who introduced me to the work of architect and all around creative genius Roy McMakin.  For me personally, architecture and art are a very emotional experience.  I was immediately struck by Mr. McMakin’s simple and earthy use of color juxtaposed against my favorite – white.

And he really gets space.

He uses color to accent the architecture in such an ‘out of the box’ kind of way.  I love him for it.  His work makes me think and look at space in new ways, and I am thankful for his perspective and keen ability to realize and execute beautiful spaces and objects.

You must check out his site domestic architecture and his other site domestic furniture.

Really, you must.

Please Say Something About this Post!